Şanlıurfa Indepence Museum
The villa is near the old State Hospital. It was built in 1903 in an architectural mixture of European and Şanlıurfa local style. The villa is spread over a large area and has two sections for men and women. In 1940s Public Theater made performances in this building. The villa was repaired by Sanliurfa Governorship and opened as Sanliurfa Indepence Museum on April 11, 2009. A section of the villa has ben allocated for State Turkish Folk Music Choir. There is also a room designed as Muslum Gurses Music Museum in the villa.
The construction located on Vali Fuat Bey Street was originally built as a church and recorded as 12 Disciples Church. In Ottoman Era, because of the wind mill wings on it, the Church was callaed “Frilly Church” by the locals. According to history records the “Lamina Cross”, which was very important for Christianity and was in the Lamina Church was later on broughjt to Urfa and displayed in this church in 1092. The tablet above the mihrab of the mosque says the building was turned into a mosque in 1956.
When it was turned into a mosque, it wasn’t given a proper name, ut people continued to call it “Fırfırlı Mosque” (Frilly). One of the striking aspects of the building is half pillars and the engravings on the outside walls.
Saladin Mosque / Selehaddin Eyyubi Mosque
The building is on Vali Fuat Bey Street. It is estiamed to be built in early 19th century, over the remains of the John the Baptist Church, which was built by Bishop Nona in 457 A.D. Because of the period it was built and its huge size, it was called a “cathedral”. For years, the building was in ruins, and was used as a power central for a while. On may 28, 1993 it was opened for prayers as a mosque. The entrance of the mosque is on the east, and the final congreation section was built on the entrance of the former chruch. Prayer space ıf the mosque is lit by quite huge windows. On the ledges of the windows half pillars and entwined dragon engravings can be seen. The original church as also used as a mosque for a while by Saladin, so when it was turned into a mosque people called it Saladin Mosque. The mosque was repaired b Foundations General Directorate in 2010-2011.
In 2007 excavations in Haleplibahce, near Halil-ür Rahman Lake, a mosaic portraying the hunting scene of Amazon women, who used to fight patriarchy 3000 years ago in a cultural basin covering an area from the Aegean and Black Sea to central Anatolia. The first detection of the mosaics made by Assist. Prof. Bahattin Celik and Archeologist Ali Uygun.
The most important aspect of Haleplibahce Mosaics is that the only example of with the name of Warrior Amazon Queens depicted on mosaics in the world is here. Experts define them as the most precious mosaics on earth because of the technique, artistry and 4mm2 original stones from Epghrates used in the making of them.
In Haleplibahce about 100 m2 of mosaics were uncovered at the first stage under the supervision of Sanliurfa Archeology Museum officials and archeologists. Geometrical motives, plant figures, pigeons, Eros without wings, squirrel, duck, partridge, gazelle, and greyhound figures can be seen in the rims of the rim surrounding the mosaic other than the mask publicly known as the “Edessa beauty” for Amazon queens, Hippolyte, Antiope, Melanippe and Penthesileaia can be seen hunting on horses with single breasts and authentic Amazon women outfits.
Different mosaics were also found in Haleplibahce excavations. One of the most important of these is the Achilles, who is a hero of the battle of Troy. The ground mosaic portray the life story of Achilles, which was uncovered by Sanliurfa Museum archeologists. The ground-heated bath from the Roman era was unhearthed in excavations, and it shows the importance of the settlement.
Considering all these aspects, Culture and Tourism Ministry decided to build an archeological museum and a mosaic museum in neighborhood of Haleplibahce. The New Sanliurfa Museuum and Haleplibahce Mosaic Museum were opened on 24 May 2015.
Halil Ur-Rahman Lake (Balikligol)
(The Place where fire is cool and secure)
Halil-ür Rahman LAke (Balikligol) is in the north of URfa Castle, is the place where “fire is cool and secure” for Prophet Ibrahim. According to holy books, Prophet Ibrahim has been the first person to reject Nemrud Bin Ken’an’s deity and to find the one and only God. When Prophet Ibrahim broke the tin gods worshipped by Nemrud and his people, he was thrown into fire but miraculously the fire-place turned into a garden of roses. This belief was embraced by divine religions and passed on from generation to generation.
Rizvaniye Mosque and Madrasa
The mosque is located in the north of Halil-ur Rahman Lake (Balıklıgöl). It was built by Rakka governor Ridvan Pasha in 1736. It has three domes sitting parallel to the mihrab.
In the east of the mosque, there is a minaret with a single balcony. The sanctuary entrance door is made in two different colors. The sanctuary section is quite luminous thanks to window openings all around. The most interest part of the mosque in terms of decoration is the entrance door. There are rich plant and geometrical figures on the door.
It is a 150m2 lake right in front of Urfa Castle in the south of Halil ur-Rahman Lake. The fish in this lake are not eaten, because the place is considered holy. According to the story, when Nemrud’s daughter declares that she converted to Prophet Ibrahim’s religion, when he was about to be thrown into fire, the daughter is pushed into the fire by Nemrud. The girl Zeliha burns to death. Later on, a lake emerges on the very same spot she died. The lake is called Aynzeliha lake from then onwards.