It is the obelish, which is placed in front of Carnac Temple, in order to monumentalize Egyptian pharoah III. Turmosis’ passage beyond Euphrates River in B.C 1471. Obelisk is pink granite and single piece and four-cornered and there are hieroglyph scripts on it. Such obelisk, which is brought from Egypt to Constantinopolis in the period of emperor Grand Theodosios (378-395), is placed into its place in the Hippodrome in 390.
Fountain, located in Horse Square (Hippodrome), which is made by architect Spitta and Carlitzik and Italian architect Joseph Antony in 1899-1901 by the order of German Emperor II. Wilhelm in honor of 15th sultanate fanniversary of Sultan II. Abdülhamit’s acceding to the throne, is brought to Istanbul and assembled into its place. Fountain is a structure, which is mixture of German renaissance, Byzantine and Ottoman water-tanks with a fountain with ophite columns on marmoreal octagonal base and round archways among them and with its copper covered dome. Dome is covered with golden mosaic from inside and intials and signuteres of Emperor and Sultan are engraved.
It is the obelisk, bricked with grinded stones. This Brick Column was covered with cronze sheets in its time. Probably, Brick Column, which was supposed to be constructed in the period of emperor Constantine The Great, was repaired in the period of emperor Constantinus VII Porphyrogenetos (913-959). While city was plundered during IV. Crusade in 1204, bronze sheets of the columns was destroyed.
Wreathed Column, which is casted by melting bronze booties, which are obtained by Greeks from Persians, whom they beat in Salamis and Platea battles in B.C. 479, is presented to Temple of Apollo in Delphi Island. Column is composed of three intertwined serpents. There is a golden trivet on three serpents. There is a golden trivet on three serpent heads, separated from each other on the top, and a golden vessel in the diameter of about three meters on this trivet. When Emperor Grand Constantinius (306-337) has this column carried from Delphi Island to here in 330, trivet and vessel on Wreathed Column are absent.
Cistern is built in 527 by Emperor Iustinianos I and constructed in order to convey water for Hagia Sophia and Emperorship Palace. Cistern is named after basilica, which is located here in advance and in the position of cultural center. Furthermore, it is also known as Iustinianos Cistern. When Turks, who came to Anatolia firstly, encounter with a cistern, take it for an underground column forest for the first time, they call here as Yerebatan Cistern because they likened this place to a palace, going down the ground. Cistern is used to be fed by water, carried by Valens (Bozdoğan) aqueducts. Basilica Cistern is the single cistern, maintaining its function in Istanbul up to the close periods. So, it provided water even for Topkapi Palace gardens. Basilica Cistern is in the form of rectangle and in the sizes of 65x138m. There are 336 columns (12×28), carrying cross vaults with 8 meters ground clearance in the cistern. It is seen that two mythological marmoreal Medusa’s heads, of which one is side and the other is upside down, are put under two short columns in the cistern. After restoration and cleaning work is made within the cistern by Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality between 1985-1987, walkwats are built into the cistern and it is opened for public visit.
there was Augustinian Square, surrounded with colonnaded cloisters in36 front of Hagia Sophia Church in Byzantine Age. Monumental Milion Stone (Milestone) is erected in the beginning point no: 0 (zero) of Mese Avenue (Divanyolu) in the center of Istanbul and of the road, named as Triumph Way of Byzantine”, and going from Istanbul to Rome in Basilica Cistern side of this square. Top of this stone was decorated with sculptures and reliefs in its time. It is widely told firs erected milestone is “Golden Milion Stone”. There are remains of water gauge, belonging to Ottoman period and increasing like a tower and adjusting water pressure and damaged consiiderably, immediately near this stone.
Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum
Museum, which is opened for public visits under the name of Islamic Foundations Museum in 1914 in Almshouse building, located within Süleymaniye Social Complex, which is the opus of Sinan the Architect, is the first Turkish museum, where Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum in the period after Republic. Museum is moved into Ibrahim Pasha Palace in 1983. Ibrahim Pasha Palace, located just opposite Sultan Ahmet Mosque, was constructed on the northern-west soace of Hippodrome. The remains of Hippodrome were also used during the construction. Sultan and people around him used to watch the festivals, march parades in Horse Square, in the loggia and balcony of Ibrahim Pasha Palace. Palace is one of the most important Ottoman civil architectural models of XVI. century and it is given as a gift to grand vizier Ibrahim Pasha by Suleyman The Magnificent in 1520. After the death of Ibrahim Pasha in 1536, palace is used in the services such as barracks sewing workshop, janissary band house, jail. Section, which is used as museum at the present time, is great ceremony saloon ant its surrounding section and 2nd courtyard of the palace. Excellent arts of all periods of Islamic art are exhibited in the museum.
Art works, which are exhibited in the museum, are composed of Carpet Art Collection, Wooden Art Collection, Manuscripts and Calligraphy collection, Stone Arts collection, Metal Arts collection, Ceramic and Glass Art collections. The wealthiest one of these collections is the Carpet collection, containing the most beatifull models of Seljuk and Ottoman period. The most beautiful models of carpet, prayer rug and rug of Uşak, Gördes, Bergama, Ladik, Milas, Sivas, Konya, Kars, are exhibited. It is possible to see extremely unique arts of other collections in the museum. Some of them are Siyer-i Nebi of famous calligraphist Ahmet Karahisari, explaining Koran and Life of Prophets, and work, named as Zübde-tüt Tevarih with miniature, recording Turkish and Islamic history until the reign of Sultan III. Murat, Koran case covers with the pearl inlay and reading desks, 1251 dated wooden sarcophagus of Seyyit Mahmut Hayrani and also excellent models of metal, glass, tile and calligraphy arts. Furthermore, museum has also the ethnographic arts section. Carpet and rug looms, wowen pieces, wool dying techniques, collected from various regions of Anatolia costumes are exhibited in its local richness and house wares, handicrafts, handicraft equipments, migratory tents are exhibited in its peculiar locations here.
Go to home page: https://anascreccatravel.com